Never Run Before? That’s Okay!

I mean, we all had to start somewhere, right? I started running when I was in graduate school to relieve stress. For years I only ran on the treadmill because I was afraid to run outside. I wore out more than one treadmill that way! Then I progressed to an indoor track. It really wasn’t until I moved to Boise in 2004 that I discovered the joys of running outdoors. And a new world opened for me.

I like to run in the still of the morning. When everything is so quiet and peaceful, and if you’re lucky, the moon lights your path. (Of course I also wear a headlamp when it’s dark outside, but more on gear later). When I first started running outside, I never dreamed I would race. That was for fast people; I certainly did not fit into that category. But then two of my students egged me into signing up for Robie Creek. (Note to self: Never make Robie Creek your first race!). I finished in 2:26, tried to eat a sandwich and promptly threw it up.

I’m not telling you that story to scare you off, I promise! My point is that if I can get my out of shape butt up and down a mountain on way too little preparation, we at GOTR can get you to the start and finish line safely. And we’ll make sure you don’t make the same newbie mistakes I did at my first race.

So each week, we’ll be giving you tips, tricks, stories, recipes and more to make sure you make it to Famous Potato or whatever race you’re signed up for!

In the meantime, check out these websites for some great tips for newbies (a.k.a. beginning runners):

http://www.runnersworld.com/training/beginners

http://www.active.com/running/Articles/Become-a-Runner-in-10-Easy-Steps.htm?cmp=291&memberid=117534896&lyrisid=38057458&email=meep@cableone.net

http://www.active.com/running/Articles/Get-a-Chi-Running-Start-in-2013.htm?cmp=291&memberid=117534896&lyrisid=37983622&email=meep@cableone.net

This entry was posted in SoleMates Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.