What to Eat Pre- or Post-Run When Your Stomach Doesn’t Want Food

smoothieSometimes my stomach is not in the mood for food before or after my long run, yet I know I need to eat something to replace my glycogen stores and ensure my muscle stores are topped off with protein.

Here’s my fix: a green smoothie. It’s easy on the stomach, has the right 3:1 or 4:1 balance of carbs:protein. Add some avocado if you want some healthy fats and enjoy!

Basic Green Smoothie

In a blender, mix:

1 cup leafy greens (kale, lettuce, spinach, etc.)

1 cup fruit (pineapple, strawberries, banana, etc.)

1 scoop protein powder (I like hemp and pea in my smoothies)

2 cups water (more or less for desired consistency)

Enjoy! The veggies and fruit provide lots of antioxidants to help keep you healthy while the protein helps balance out your blood sugar until your next real meal.

This entry was posted in SoleMates Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.